Melted Crayon Art

This is actually an old make from September 2011, but I thought it would be a good place to start as I already have the photos.

These things are all over Pinterest. Back then, I wasn’t on Pinterest.

However, I came across this post via StumbleUpon, and instantly wanted to try it. So that’s exactly what I did!

I got my canvas’ from Hobbycraft and my crayons in 24 packs from Toys ‘R’ Us.

I worked out, that to cover the landscape edge of my canvas, I would need 40 or 41 crayons (depending on how straight or tight I glued them). Having removed the black, brown, grey and white crayons from two boxes, I was left with 40 crayons!

Using one of the canvas’, I worked out an order for the crayons that I wanted. The most logical order for my first attempt was a colour spectrum with two of each colour together. Once this was created, I set about attaching them to the other canvas using a hot glue gun.

During the attaching process, I decided to have one crayon of each colour displaying the colour name, and the second displaying the Crayola logo.

Once all the crayons were attached (I needed the black on this board), I covered the table with newspaper, set a metal tray and an old sweet tub on top, and stood my board on the tray and leaning against the board.

After that, it was all about the hairdryer and creating the artwork.

As I had a second canvas, and another two packs of crayons, I created another design. This time, the crayons created a rainbow into the centre and then back out. Once again, I had one crayon displaying the colour name and the other displaying the Crayola logo. This time, I didn’t add the black on the end!

I really enjoyed making both of these. There were a few splashes of crayon dotted around the kitchen, but a little mess never hurt anyone! And… I’d completely forgotten how great crayons smell!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Melted Crayon Art

  1. CheckeredBlue April 29, 2013 at 5:56 pm Reply

    Wow amazing! I wanted to try this, but I didn’t know if it would work with a hairdryer, but if this turns out awesome, I’m up to try this too !!!

Leave a Comment

